greenbottletree











{01/11/2010}   Writing a Film Script in 21 Days
My scriptwriting area!

     It’s 0837 on Monday, 1st November 2010.  I’m going to write this, make a coffee, re-read some of my script notes, panic about my Word settings and the strict formatting of a screenplay then set a timer for two hours.  I will then write the first ten pages (which equates to ten minutes) of Galloping Fish, my screenplay set in Japan and based very loosely on my two and half years living there.
     
     I’m absolutely terrified, believe it or not!  The book poking out from the bottom left corner of my netbook is entitled “How to Write a Movie in 21 Days” by Viki King.  I’ve done all my preparation, and to a degree I feel there’s a story waiting to come out.  But my fear is twofold.  First of all, by starting now, I will have a completed screenplay on 21st November.  That’s all well and good but I have never, ever followed something through with a schedule like that.  And I can’t stand the idea of disappointing myself by not doing it this time.  Oh, and I’ve never written a screenplay before.  Secondly, I find the layout and stage direction extremely confusing and unfamiliar.  Those are my worries before I even dare think about the actual writing of 120 pages … IN SEVEN DAYS!  
     
     The seven days, starting soon, is to write the first draft.  I can’t believe that this time next week will be the eight day, which, according to the book, will be my (well-deserved) day of rest after the seven days of … ugh, I’m feeling even more stressed now!
     
     I think it’s time for coffee …
 
 
Leave a Reply

et cetera
