greenbottletree











{09/02/2012}   What no make-up?

I just saw the front cover of Heat: Celebs without make-up.  Shock.  I can see why such photos are regularly printed, they make the likes of Jo Public feel good, whether that be because they can bitch about an otherwise immaculate celebrity looking awful, ie normal, or whether they can feel better in the knowledge that make-up is available for all, so if Posh can look rough without make-up and ok with, we can improve our appearance with make-up.  Hurrah, hope for us all.
I’m all in favour of make-up for every day use, to an extent.  I feel bare if I don’t have my Mac Studio Fix on.  It takes the shine off my face and makes me feel smooth complexioned.  I would wear mascara and eyeliner if I could apply them well, not rub my eyes a lot and not be paranoid about having make-up splodges and panda eyes.
Yesterday, I found myself sitting next to the kind of girl I can’t help but snatch stares of.  She was orange-faced to just below her chin, had bright blond hair tied back and a neon pink hair thing ,and her eyes were weighed down with mascara, eyeliner and plastered on eyeshadow.  I imagine with her hair down and no make-up she would look very different.  Like celebrities do without their … camouflage?
I think make-up for every day use makes me feel better, fully dressed.  But I can and do go out without it, feeling bare though I do.
If I were to suddenly become famous, I would be recognisable only with my basic foundation.  If I had the red carpet treatment, I would be unrecognisable … apart from an inability to walk elegantly in high heels!
A friend of mine is a make-up artist for TV.  She always wears a lot more make-up than I would for going out, and it’s beautifully applied.  When she’s “just round mine” she wears a lot less and I don’t think would go out unprepared.
I guess make-up is a kind of disguise, a barrier, our chance to show others how good we can look by enhancing, say, our lovely blue eyes.  Because your face is the part of you people spend most time looking at (unless you’re 32KK!).  The girl with the pink hair thing probably thought she looked amazing, indeed like some types of celebrity.  That was an image she consciously wanted to flaunt.  She got noticed.  Maybe she wouldn’t have done if she just had on foundation and eyebrows in need of restructuring, as I did!
I would love to be creative with make-up.  Knowing someone who does it for a living, I appreciate it’s hard work.  She works with a lot of “normal” people who don’t necessarily have botoxed, smooth, expensively-moisturised skin.  And who have an idea that she can make them look like [stunning model].  We can’t all be transformed to look amazing but it’d be great if we could all have make-up lessons so we could enhance our lovely features and conceal the not-so-lovely ones!
I am wildly making semi-points but developing nothing, so here’s a stab at a conclusion/point: celebrities are not all beautiful people.  Like anyone else, they probably use make-up to create an image, look as good as they can.  The reason most of us don’t look that good is because we are not usually photoshopped or made-up by professionals.  They also probably know that they lose an incy bit of awe in the eyes of those that see them when they are seen merely looking “normal”.  Also, our more conventional work environments probably aren’t conducive to going-out make-up.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
