greenbottletree











{16/02/2012}   Love – A short story

     Saturday.  A week today!  A week today! 

          I wake up at about 6.15am but I doze until my alarm goes off at 8.00am.  I am tired but I have a lot to do: white wash, dark wash, hanging everything out to dry, weekly shop, as little ironing as is necessary, washing up from last night … Saturday chores.  First I need coffee, then check my phone, reply to any texts or emails.  We’re going out at 8pm, different restaurant but most of the usual people/usual time.  But a week today!!!

     Sunday.  Six days!  This time next week!

          I wake up at about 6.15am but I doze until my alarm goes off at 8.30am.  I am tired and there is promise of a slight hangover.  I have a few things to do that I didn’t finish off yesterday before I drive to my parents’ for Sunday lunch at 1pm.  My sister, her husband and my two nieces will be there too.  This week we’ll be having roast chicken with all the trimmings.  I need coffee before I can do any of this.  Six days, six days!

     Monday.  Five sleeps!  Five days!  This time next week …

          I am woken at 6.15am by the sharp pipping of my alarm.  I am shocked into getting up.  I go to the bathroom and return to my bedroom at 6.38am.  In my tired stupor I pick up the clothes I got ready last night and get dressed for work.  I take out the first of five bagels from a bag and make breakfast of toasted bagel with cream cheese and a mug of strong, black coffee.  I switch between waves of tiredness and waves of dread.  I have to catch a train at 7.32am and be at work for 8.30am.  I think about the money.  I hate the job but I love the money, I need the money.  A hectic, stressful and horrid day is ahead of me.  But I will always catch the 7.49pm train home.  I will have one of my five ready meals this evening.  Maybe the Chinese starters … but I think they take longer than microwave meals.

     Tuesday.  Four sleeps!  Four days!  Four?!

          I am woken at 6.15am by the sharp pipping of my alarm.  I am shocked into getting up.  I go to the bathroom and return to my bedroom at 6.38am.  In my tired stupor I pick up the clothes I got ready last night but I am not in the mood for them so I raid my wardrobe.  I have a cold bagel and a mug of strong, black coffee, to which I have to add cold water.  I switch between waves of tiredness, waves of dread and waves of panic over being late.  I run to catch the 7.32am train.  I am at work by 8.30am.  I hate this job.  I hate what I see in my day ahead.  But the money is great, the money is great.  I want to catch the 6.49pm train but there is so much to do, and anyway I always catch the 7.49pm train.  Maybe tonight I’ll have the Chinese starters.  My phone rings while I’m on the train.  My friend has cancelled Wednesday badminton.  Panic.  What do I do?  Who can I call?  Can someone else play badminton?  I could see if anyone wants to go out for drinks after work?  Panic, panic.  I call and text lots of people.  I forget about dinner.  I make plans for tomorrow night.  I am hungry.  I eat a bagel.  I must buy a bagel on my way home tomorrow.

     Wednesday.  Three sleeps!  Three days! 

          I am woken at 6.15am by the sharp pipping of my alarm.  I am shocked into getting up.  I go to the bathroom and return to my bedroom at 6.38am.  In my tired stupor, I go to the chair with my clothes on.  They aren’t there.  Crikey, I forgot last night.  Panic.  I throw myself into my wardrobe, clothes everywhere, “I have no clothes”.  I get dressed.  I hastily take out a cold bagel, make coffee and add cold water, eat and drink quickly.  Then walk for the 7.32am train.  Three days!  Three days!  Three sleeps!  I hate this job.  A flash of the day ahead … three days!  I meet my friends after work, it’s better than badminton, we talk about Saturday.  Three days away.  I drink a bit much and I am giddy with excitement.  Such a lovely evening.

     Thursday.  Two sleeps!  Two sleeps!

          I am woken at 6.15am by the sharp pipping of my alarm.  I am shocked into getting up.  I go to the bathroom and return to my bedroom at 6.38am.  In my tired stupor, I go to the chair with my clothes on.  They aren’t there.  Crikey, I forgot last night.  Panic.  I throw myself into my wardrobe, clothes everywhere, “I have no clothes”.  I get dressed.  I hastily take out a cold bagel, make coffee and add cold water, look at the clock, eat and drink and make another coffee, a hot one, at leisure.  Then walk for the 7.32am train.   I feel rough.  I might be drunk still.  No, I feel too rough, it’s a hangover.  I have to endure a whole day in that office.  The money, the money.  I hate that job.  The money.  Oh my, two days!  Two days!  But a whole day in that office.  I catch the 7.49pm train home.  Definitely the Chinese starters tonight.

     Friday.  One sleep!  One day! Tomorrow?  Tomorrow!

          I am woken at 6.15am by the sharp pipping of my alarm.  I am shocked into getting up.  I go to the bathroom and return to my bedroom at 6.38am.  In my tired stupor I pick up the clothes I got ready last night and get dressed for work.  The bagel bag has gone.  Panic.  I didn’t get any more bagels.  Panic.  Cereal.  There is cereal.  I have a bowl of slightly stale cereal and a mug of strong, hot, black coffee.  I catch the 7.32am train.  I burp up Chinese starters.  A moment of queasiness.  Maybe it’s excitement?  Tomorrow?  TOMORROW???!!!!  I smile.  My day will be horrid but tomorrow!  One more day in that horrid office, one more sleep, then … just a day to get through.  I might have smiled a bit a work.  I wanted to catch a train at about midday but I made it to the 7.49pm train home.  Panic.  I should’ve left work earlier, I need to tidy the house and make it look nice and have a bath.  And I am so tired and it’s technically Saturday but I am still tired … a key in the door?  The door opening?  No????  Surely not??????

     Saturday.  Today!

          He’s here!

     Sunday.  Every day now! 

          He’s back!

     Monday.  Every day this week and next week and every day!

          He’s back!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
