greenbottletree











{14/10/2012}   Some musings while listening to Puff the Magic Dragon

I am going to write this with Puff the Magic Dragon on repeat.  I shall ramble on about all the things it’s making me think of.

I was very disappointed when it came out that Puff the Magic Dragon might have been written about drugs.  No, it’s about a very cute dragon who lived by the sea and frolicked in the autumn mist.  Ahh, it’s so sweet.  I can picture a smiling baby dragon flying around and bouncing around on a quiet, sandy beach.

I was once on an overnight train from somewhere north of the Arctic Circle in Norway to Oslo.  I woke as it got light and looked out of the train window.  It was one of the most beautiful and magical things I’ve ever seen – sadly no Puff – and it probably wasn’t even that amazing but we were going along tracks next to a fjord.  I remember there being a really jagged low-level coastline, the sea was quite calm, there were mountains and the sky was a glorious sunrise stained colour.  It was beautiful and one of those magic moments in life when you feel you’ve been rewarded with something stunning that no one else has seen.

I am on my second listen of Puff and I am being reminded that it’s a sad story.  I think it’s about growing up.  I wonder what Peter Pan is like to read now.  I don’t know if I particularly liked it or not and I know I never wanted to be an eternal child but sometimes I feel it’s only children who can get away with living in a magical world where everyday things are exciting.

This reminds me of a picture that someone posted on Facebook and which I then “shared”.  There is an ordinary-looking man walking along a pavement with a nondescript wall next to him.  There is a pigeon flying above him.  However, the shadow of the man is actually a heroic-looking knight battling with a dragon, which is the shadow of the pigeon.  There is a caption: “My life is so much more interesting inside my head”.  That really struck a chord with me as I have superhero type tendencies in terms of how I see things!  It really does make mundane things more interesting.  But every now and then I wonder if there are many other people who also do this.  I am sure there are!

I might be tiring slightly of this song.  A friend mentioned she was watching Princess Bride the other week.  That is one of my favourite films.  However, the book is so much better and there are so many more things that happen in the book.  Interestingly I think, William Goldman also wrote Marathon Man (a book of a genre that doesn’t interest me but which was recommended to me and which is one of the best books I’ve ever read) and the screenplay for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.  It’s definitely about time I either re-read Princess Bride or at least watched the film version.

I feel all fairy taily now, but sadly I don’t think I’ll be listening to Puff the Magic Dragon again for a while, it’s not the best song to have on repeat five or six times!  Tom Waits now!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
