greenbottletree











{09/10/2015}   Kitchen revamp – an attempt to make a chore seem at least six times more exciting
Before the tidy

The kitchen BEFORE (I would hope that’s obvious). Please humour me and observe the cupboards before and after as I am particularly impressed by their improvements, both aesthetically and practically

After the tidy

Still far too much stuff but that’s a whole other can of worms! Look at the cupboards, so much less messy. I am not a fan of clear cupboard doors, but if they weren’t clear, I fear they would never be tidied and ordered.

To some people, I will be opening myself up to ridicule by suggesting my “kitchen revamp” is worthy of being a blog post when all it appears to be is a much needed kitchen tidy.  It may also be noted that I am not remotely minimalist, though nor do I want to be.  But I would love a bigger kitchen/more storage space to enable a degree of minimalism where work surfaces are concerned.  Anyway, a blatant digression.

I have laboured under the belief that this has been a worthy project and the moving around of things and the tidying of food and stuff is a major achievement.  In my world, thinking of it as a project, complete with excessively loud old school club classics as my soundtrack, made it a far more enjoyable and significant endeavour.  Thus, tidying can be fun.  Sort of.

There is absolutely no need to go into detail about “how I created the look” because that would be embarrassing to me and outrageously patronising to you, but if this inspires just one person to feel enthusiastic about a big kitchen clean and tidy, our 10pm dinner (as a result of the carnage I created), three trips to the bins, the discovery of a large frozen spider in the shouldn’t-have-been-frozen bottom of the fridge and a lot of washing up will all have been worthwhile.

Too much clutter (and a few lunch things needing to be washed up or put away)

Too much clutter (and a few lunch things needing to be washed up or put away)

I would like to point out that the before photos are with lunch stuff out and the emptied

Still lots of stuff out but definitely more work space and order

Still lots of stuff out but definitely more work space and order

dishwasher contents by the side of the hob, so it was never always that untidy.

As for the cupboards, the ugly opened plastic packaging of food is now behind the less messy boxes and storage containers I had.  I have used some of the things previously stored on top of the cupboards (eg the bread tin now has bread in it; how innovative) and I ruthlessly threw things out that were past their prime or which I was prepared to accept I would never use (puffed amaranth – what was I thinking when I decided that should feature in my diet?!).

All in all, an evening and morning well spent .  Though, annoyingly, I am now more aware than before that I have too much stuff for too small a kitchen for too many rare eventualities and, probably worst of all, my cooker needs cleaning and there is no joy to be had from cleaning cookers.  Or is there … (bollocks there is, it’s a horrid job, and that’s not even taking into account the heroically-ish achieved back strain resulting from my last attempt)

A reminder of how much stuff I have in the kitchen. But at least it looks better now. How long will the relative tidiness last, I wonder?!

Before, though I would like to point out the pans etc by the side of the sink are from the dishwasher, to be put away

Before, though I would like to point out the pans etc by the side of the sink are from the dishwasher, to be put away. I took the photo just ahead of starting and wanted it to look authentic

Leave a Reply

et cetera
